STPF: S&T Policy Fellowships


The AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowships (STPF) is the premier opportunity for scientists, social scientists and engineers to learn first-hand about policymaking and contribute to policy for the nation. Fellows come from a range of sectors, career stages and disciplines. Sign up to receive our newsletter, application announcements, resources, and tips!

Lorem Ipsum Dolor Crancet Phelsues Octorup Exrante

Cras quis nulla commodo, aliquam lectus sed blandit augue cras ullam.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut pretium pretium tempor. Ut eget imperdiet neque. In volutpat ante semper diam molestie, et aliquam erat laoreet. Sed sit amet arcu aliquet, molestie justo at, auctor nunc. Phasellus ligula ipsum, volutpat eget semper id, viverra eget nibh. Suspendisse luctus mattis cursus.

  • If you've got just a small tower room filled with straw, or a whole gigantic hall, we can convert it all to gold.
  • Rumpelstiltskin works around the clock to get you the results you need. We make the impossible, possible.
  • Even if you don't have the money to pay, Rumpelstiltskin is always flexible with alternative forms of payment. Rings, necklaces, future children, we'll accept any form of payment.

Live Chat Speakers

Faith Dukes, 2017-19 Executive Branch Fellow, National Science Foundation, Division of Human Resource Development

Dr. Dukes currently serves as the Director of K-12 STEM Education Programs within the Government and Community Relations Office, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Her work is at the intersection of scientific research, STEM education, policy, and diversity, equity and inclusion. She has honed her skills as a science communicator in positions at the MIT Museum and as a AAAS S&T Policy Fellow at the National Science Foundation. She holds a bachelor of science from Spelman College and completed her Ph.D. in physical chemistry studying photocatalytic semiconductors at Tufts University.

Estevan Santana, 2016-18 Executive Branch Fellow, National Institutes of Health, Office of Science Policy

Dr. Santana is a Microbiologist who left the lab to pursue a career in public policy. He got bit by the policy bug during his first fellowship experience working in the California State Legislature where he was exposed to fast-paced, high stakes work analyzing pharmaceutical, health care, and education policy (among others). Estevan next moved to Washington, D.C. to participate in the AAAS S&T Policy Fellowships. After STPF, Estevan joined the PhRMA Science and Regulatory Advocacy team working on multiple FDA regulatory issues. Estevan later joined Genentech’s State Government Affairs focusing on state policy issues.

Andrea Gaede, 2017-18 Judicial Branch Fellow, Federal Judicial Center

Dr. Gaede is a Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in locomotor biomechanics at the Royal Veterinary College in London, UK. She is a neurobiologist specializing in investigating how the nervous system uses sensory information to guide complex locomotion in birds. Dr. Gaede received a BA in Neuroscience from Vanderbilt University in 2006, and her Ph.D. in Advanced Medicine from Macquarie University (Sydney, Australia) in 2012 where she was supported by the International Research Excellence Scholarship and other awards.

Moderator: Ryan Gallasch, Program Manager, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowships

Ryan manages partnerships with federal host agencies and offices facilitating day-to-day coordination of fellows. This entails conducting the selection and placement processes; monitoring and reporting on fellowship activities; and, serving as a liaison and guide to fellows and their mentors. In addition, Ryan contributes to planning and conducting orientation sessions, and participates in outreach and recruitment efforts.